Farmfoods are Quorn to be wild with this great vegan burger bargain

The lockdown is hitting many people in the pocket, so any budget vegan food is to be welcomed at the moment, but this is something else!

Farmfoods has a big bag of Quorn Ultimate Vegan Burgers for £3.99 – and by big, I mean 2kg! I counted 18 burgers in my bag, and they are a decent size too.

Bag of vegan burgers.
A bag of Quorn Ultimate Vegan Burgers from Farmfoods

These thick and meaty burgers are perfect for a family and even better for a barbecue. Farmfoods also has its usual “three for a fiver” offer on its Veggie Kitchen range too – that’s reviewed here.

Now, calling anything “ultimate” is a huge claim – do they live up to the claim?

Well, the burgers themselves grill or fry from frozen in 12 to 14 minutes, and they colour nicely too. They have that chargrilled look about them when they’ve cooked and boast a meaty feel and texture. They’re not overly chewy though and have a nice bite to them.

To me, they taste burger-like too. I can’t remember exactly what meat burgers taste like, but I personally couldn’t see non-vegans complaining.

Some vegans don’t like the trend of making vegan food more meat-like. As a long-standing vegan, I can understand this and relate to this point of view. I can also see how it’s an advantage for new vegans missing the taste and texture of meat and for those vegans wanting something which meat-eaters can also enjoy.

Some may prefer their vegan burgers with a little more spice and, if I’m honest, I wouldn’t have minded the addition of a kick of black pepper, but the lack of an overbearing flavour can be seen as an advantage too – I can envisage these going down well with kids – vegan or not.

I had mine with chips for the purpose of this review, but I can imagine gravy complementing this perfectly – they’d also go well in a vegan cheeseburger I believe.

As you can see from the ingredients below, they are soy-free but not gluten-free.

Quorn does have a sustainable palm oil policy which you can read here

Quorn Ultimate Vegan Burgers ingredient list
Quorn Ultimate Vegan Burgers ingredients

 

2 thoughts on “Farmfoods are Quorn to be wild with this great vegan burger bargain

Leave a comment